Alberta Saskatchewan Winter Judges Conference

02/21/2021 @ 11:00 am

Format
Other

Region
Canada

Date/Time
Date(s) - 02/21/2021
11:00 am

Categories

What’s in a conference?

The goal of this conference is to improve the overall quality of Magic Judges and their interactions with Magic Players. Attendees are invited to receive training and knowledge from other experienced judges, and share their own skills and observations with the judge community.

As an appreciation for your contribution to the betterment of the Magic Judge Program, foils will be mailed out after the conference to qualifying attendees.  More information on the possible contents of the foil packet is available on the Judge Academy Conferences page.

If your judge level on Judge Academy is incorrectly showing L0 or Rules Advisor, please have your Community Consultant email Tony Gray confirmation of your certification. Alongside that, if you are a level 0 judge looking to take the next step, a judges conference is a great place to meet level 2 judges to help get you certified.

Registration

Please note that you may cancel at any time, so it’s better to get your application in sooner rather than forget about it and accidentally miss the deadline. Also note that you can edit your application after applying.

Registration is open to all Canadian L1+ judges. All accepted will receive promo support.

Registration will remain open through Sunday, February 14 for parties applying to be a presenter. 

Tentative Schedule

Sunday, February 21

11:00 AM MST — Start of conference: Introduction, logistics (feedback forms, mailing addresses), and acknowledgements
11:05 AM MST — Presentation 1
11:55 AM MST — Break
12:00 PM MST — Presentation 2
12:50 PM MST — Break
1:00 PM MST — Presentation 3
1:50 PM MST — Break
2:00 PM MST — Presentation 4
2:50 PM MST — Break
3:00 PM MST — Presentation 5
3:50 PM MST — Break
4:00 PM MST — Presentation 6
4:50 PM MST — End of conference: Wrap-up

Time Zones

Conference start times in Canada’s major time zones, because our country is huge:

  • 11:00 AM Pacific Daylight Time
  • 12:00 PM Mountain Daylight Time
  • 12:00 PM Central Standard Time
  • 1:00 PM Central Daylight Time
  • 2:00 PM Eastern Daylight Time
  • 3:00 PM Atlantic Daylight Time
  • 3:30 PM Newfoundland Daylight Time

Presentations and Volunteering

If you wish to present a seminar, or volunteer in some other way, please let us know in your application! Note that the application deadline for presenters is Sunday, February 14.

Seminars should be approximately 40-45 minutes long and should solicit active participation from the audience—this could be anywhere from structured Q&As, role-playing scenarios, or even friendly competition. Proposals for off-the-wall, non-traditional, non-lecture-style presentations that challenge the concept of what a seminar is are very much encouraged.

Meeting Details

We will be meeting using Zoom; meeting invite will be posted here closer to the event after testing has been done.

While having a webcam and microphone are nice to have for making it easier for you to interact with presenters, they are not required.

Alberta Saskatchewan Winter Judges Conference Map Unavailable

Apply to this Event

Accurate information is the responsibility of the tournament organizer for each of their respective events. If you have any questions or concerns please contact the organizer directly.